WordPress Bits

Hacking WordPress. Keeping the bits together.

Tip #9 : Use trackback auto-discovery

Posted by Leonid Mamchenkov on December 18, 2007

When building WordPress themes from scratch it is easy to forget about things that “just work”.  One of such things, often forgotten by newcomers to WordPress theme development, is trackback auto-discovery – a really tiny bit of code, which is not visible to a naked eye (an eye without HTML source that is).  Trackback auto-discovery provides a specially formatted HTML code for other content management systems to find a trackback URL in your post.  Gladly, there is a Codex page that covers trackback_rdf() function.

24 Responses to “Tip #9 : Use trackback auto-discovery”

  1. monika said

    Hi
    Maybe since wp 2.0 I can’t find this function in wordpress theme *default* or *classic*.

    So I can’t understand why you told this theme developer and not the wp developer ;)

    kindly regards

    Monika

  2. Monika,

    trackbacks are somewhat obsolete by pingbacks. Pingbacks works in both default and classic themes, because they provide the pingback link in the header part. Also, both default and classic themes provide trackback URIs for manual copy-paste – something that not all themes out there offer.

    I should probably write a post explaining how both pingbacks and trackbacks work. :)

  3. Monika said

    I hope I can explain what I mean (english is not my friend;))

    You mean this code

    <!--

    -->

    At old wp versions this code was implemented in default (Kubrick) and classic theme – since version 2.0 or something else it isn’t.

    So new wp theme author don’t know something about this trackback rdf ….

    If it is necessary or a good thing, why it is never in the default themes ?

    kindly regards

    Monika
    (
    I’m sitting on another pc and can’t login to my wordpress.com account )

  4. Monika,

    I have no idea why they substituted automatic trackback discovery with manual URLs. I’ll try to check in SVN logs to find a hint…

  5. monika said

    Thanks Leonid

    because I would like to know why or why not before I write something on my blog in german.

    regards

    Monika

  6. [...] Tip #9 : Use trackback auto-discovery When building WordPress themes from scratch it is easy to forget about things that “just work”.  One of […] [...]

  7. Because no one uses trackback autodiscovery, and the RDF in a comment thing is a hack.

  8. [...] directed me to Tip #9: Use trackback auto-discovery, written by Leonid Mamchenkov. Leonid’s tip explained the important part in one sentence: [...]

  9. Matt,

    thanks. I’ll need to do my homework better in the future. :)

  10. garchoune said

    thanks you for the tips

  11. nice tips and for the useful information

  12. I have quite a few of the ‘free’ WordPress templates that have neglected to add this feature. I will watch for it in any future themes!

  13. Michel said

    Hi, Leonid!

    You didn’t update your WP bits blog for quite a long time?… Hope you’ll be back, soon:)

    Cheers, M. :-)

  14. Michel,

    the things I do have changed a lot recently. I’m not working with WordPress at all, and with the time constraints, I am falling behind the news and happenings. Unfortunately. :(

    I am thinking on how to proceed with this blog, but I don’t have anything to share just yet.

  15. Michel said

    Mmmh, it’a a pity, always read the ‘bits’ here with great interest:)

    Maybe you’ll have a bit more for WP and the blog after a while? :-)

    Wishing you all the best! :)

  16. Thanks Michel! I am not moving too far away – I am still doing things on the web, and my blog is still on WordPress. So, chances are I will come back with more later. In the meantime maybe I will find someone who could take over WPBits. :)

  17. Thanks Michel! I am not moving too far away – I am still doing things on the web, and my blog is still on WordPress. So, chances are I will come back with more later. In the meantime maybe I will find someone who could take over WPBits. :)

  18. adhe said

    thanks, I will try your post.

  19. Demara said

    Ah yes. Mine’s working (or, at least, the code is there), and I appreciate the reminder.

  20. HOw to use trackback autodiscovery, is a function of wordpress?

  21. Hmmmmm, I am intrigued as to just what that little bit of code does…

  22. Ghufron said

    I’ve a problem around the RSS Feed Autodiscovery. My RSS Feed cannot be detected by BlogCatalog.Com. My feed is http://www.ghufron.com/feed. Is it right?

  23. dinsblog said

    nice tips..unfortunately this blog not was updated for a long time.

  24. Nice, but old trackback trick …

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

